Historic Preservation Board

The Wabash Historic Preservation meets the fourth Tuesday of every month, 12:00 p.m. at City Hall.

In October of 2005, the Wabash City Council adopted a Historic Preservation Ordinance. This ordinance created a Historic Preservation Commission, which is a body of five people, appointed by Mayor Scott Long, to protect the historic architecture in the City of Wabash. The Historic Preservation Commission meets this goal in several ways: 

  1. Educates the public about the importance of historic buildings and preserving them.
  2. Acts as a resource to building owners who want to make improvements to their buildings.
  3. Creates local historic districts with design guidelines to preserve the historic character of our downtown and residential areas. 

When our historic buildings were built, basic design principles, such as texture, color, rhythm, and pattern, were used to make our commercial areas and residential neighborhoods a cohesive, yet unique, place to live, work and play. 

Historic Preservation Committee Members:

  • Mark Guenin
  • Lisa Gilman
  • Ellen Stouffer
  • Jim Reynolds
  • Susan Stewart

Certificate of Appropriateness

Design Guidelines for Historic Downtown District